GW Link

Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Garden Grant

Grants to USA and Canada K-12 Schools and
Nonprofits for Educational Edible Garden Projects

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Whole Kids Foundation

Conf. Date:

10/02/19

Deadline Date:

10/15/19 5:00 PM CST

Description:

Request a Grant Writer

Grants of $2,000 to USA and territories and Canada K-12 public and private schools and nonprofit organizations for new or existing educational gardens. Requests must be made for educational edible gardens that grow fruits, vegetables, herbs, edible flowers, and grains. Funding is also intended to support classroom curriculum, connect kids with food, and spark their curiosity. The organization must regularly engage at least 10 children in any grade range of K-12 at the garden.

Each grant applicant is required to partner with an organization or business from the community that will help to bring long-term sustainability to the initiative.

Applications will still be considered even if the school does not offer free or reduced-price lunches. Because priority for grants will be given to projects connected with schools in limited-resource communities, lack of a free or reduced-price lunch program may impact the overall competitiveness of the application.

If awarded, the grant may only be used for the success of an educational edible garden. Funds can be used for the fees to attend a garden training but this must not exceed 40% (or $800) of the total grant funds.


GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 182429

Estimated Size of Grant:

The Garden Grant program provides a $2,000 monetary grant.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Eligible Applicants:
- Public schools
- Public charter schools
- Private schools with 501c3 non-profit status (US) or charity non-profit status (Canada)
- Private charter schools with 501c3 non-profit status (US) or charity non-profit status (Canada)
- 501c3 non-profit organizations supporting a garden at a public or a non-profit private school (US)
- Charity non-profit organizations supporting a garden at a public or a non-profit private school (Canada)
- School districts supporting a garden at a public or a non-profit private school
- All must be within the United States or Canada

If the grant applicant is a non-profit organization that will be working with a school, then the non-profit applicant may also serve as garden project’s community partner. Please note: the school’s PTO/PTA cannot serve as the community partner, as this does not accomplish the goal of an outside organization supporting the garden.

Funds may not be used for:
- Real estate
- Travel costs
- Field trips

Pre-proposal Conference:

Whole Kids Foundation Garden Grant Application Process Webinar

Interested in applying to the Whole Kids Foundation Garden Grant Program? Have some questions you'd like to ask real time? Working on your application and want some clarification?

Come join Tristana Pirkl, Grant Programs Manager, and Crystal Ortegon, Programs Specialist, as they walk through all of the steps of the process and what is required to submit a successful application. They will leave plenty of time for questions so come prepared!

Both webinars will cover the same topics and will be recorded and shared so you can have for future reference.

- September 17th at 12pm EST/11am CST/9am PST
- October 2nd at 4pm EST/3pm CST/1pm PST

For more information, and to register for either session:
https://register.gotowebinar.com/rt/3586792032215977730

Pre-Application Information:

Relevant dates:
- Application Open: September 1, 2019
- Application Closed: October 15, 2019 at 5pm CST (6pm EST, 4pm MST, 3pm PST)
- Notifications sent to all applicants: February 15, 2020
- Grant checks will be mailed in the following months.

If your organization has multiple educational gardens at multiple sites, you can treat each site as a separate applicant and can apply (and receive up to 3 grants) for each site.

2018 Webinar Recording:
https://register.gotowebinar.com/recording/966837252090085131

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply Online:
https://wholekidsfoundation.smartsimple.com/s_Login.jsp

Direct questions to:
grants@wholekidsfoundation.org

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon